Jessica -

Rate From: $20 to $0

General Info

I just graduated from CU Boulder with degrees in English and Elementary Education. I am currently looking for summer employment, and, as teaching is my passion, I LOVE working with kids. I am the oldest of my 16 cousins, and we grew up in the same neighborhood in New Jersey. So, I have been babysitting since I was a kid. Since then, I have had innumerable jobs working with children. Some of those jobs include, lacrosse coach, camp counselor, after-school care worker, and teacher in kindergarten, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade classrooms. I just completed my student teaching in a 3rd grade classroom in Thornton. As a recent graduate from CU, I earned two awards: Outstanding Elementary Graduate and Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Education Graduate. Because I was the recipient of these awards, CU's School of Education wrote an article about me that you can find here: . The article tells you a bit more about me and my journey with teaching a working with children. As a teacher, I was privileged to work with children with all kinds of exceptionalities. So, I have experience working with children who have autism spectrum disorder, various emotional needs, ADD and ADHD, are labeled as gifted and talented, or have various other needs that may have not been specified (for example children who have IEP or 504 plans for unspecified developmental delays, emotional challenges, binocular disfunction, etc.). I love all children and am dedicated to equitable education.

I am a huge outdoor enthusiast, and I specifically enjoy skiing, hiking, climbing, and fly fishing. So, I love getting kids outside. From my experiences running summer camps, I know lots of fun games and activities that can be done outside. I also love arts and crafts; my little cousins and I recently built some gnome houses :). Because I am a teacher, I can't help but bring some educational elements into interactions with kids. I love reading to/with children, or doing fun science games/experiments.

As I mentioned above, I am a hiker, climber, skier, and fly fisher. I also played the piano for most of my life, and would be happy to teach what I know. I speak a decent amount of Spanish, and understand most Spanish. I also grew up playing and coaching Lacrosse.

Full Time Part Time After School Date Nights Weekends

University of Colorado, Boulder


Prefer not to say

Certifications & Willing To Do

Cooking Errands House Sitting Light Cleaning Organizing Overnight Sitting Pet Sitting Travel Sitting Tutoring