Katherine -

Rate From: $10 to $25

General Info

I'm a well-educated and well-travelled single parent. I grew up overseas, speak several languages, and have am passionate about languages and literature. I plan to attend graduate school in the next few years, but in the meantime I am working independently and trying to save money. My daughter attends private school in Lakewood and I am available days, after school, and weekends for children of all ages. I believe in cleaning up between activities, and am happy to do the dishes and fold the laundry for you while the children are asleep. To manage behaviour, I believe in immediate positive and negative reinforcement. Negative reinforcement takes the form of time outs, typically no longer than the age of the child (i.e. for a 3 year old, no longer than 3 minutes). I use a kitchen timer to reinforce the length of time. I find shorter time outs just as effective. I use a lot of positive reinforcement to encourage good behaviour. I also find that conflicts are easily avoided with plenty of warning between transitions (giving warnings 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 1 minute before its time to stop what we're doing). Children are expected to help with clean up after an activity also, and that helps move us into the next stage. Conflicts often arise around feeding, but I will usually try to stick to the dinner plan. However, I won't send a child to bed hungry, even if it means supplementing with a peanut butter and jelly sandwich after a failed attempt at serving lasagna or some similarly intimidating meal.

With younger children I favour less messy crafts like beading, play dough and other kinds of clay, and colouring. I have quite a repertoire of summer camp songs and activities to call upon as well. I can also teach swimming. I generally avoid television at all costs, but with parent permission I will put on a classic musical (i.e. the Sound of Music, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Mary Poppins) or a favorite film (lately all the requests have been for Frozen). For bedtime activities, I prefer reading classic children's literature, and am happy to supply a range of picture books. I also will sing at bed time if requested. With infants, I favour a set schedule for feeding, nap time, and an early bedtime. I believe babies in the first year should be physically held as much as possible, so I would spend a lot of contact time, which may include lying on the couch with the baby asleep on my chest while I read aloud from classic literature, or walking around with a baby bjorn strapped on while I clean up.

I'm available for after school homework help in most subjects, including English language arts / reading, math up to grade 8, and chemistry, biology, and history up to AP level. I am also happy to help with homework in German, French, and Spanish, and could even teach a little Chinese if needed. I also sing, play a little piano and flute, and have a variety of fun art and crafts activities. I always bring colouring pages and washable markers with me.

Full Time Part Time After School Weekends

Southern Methodist University

Honor Society: Phi Beta Kappa

Christian - Protestant

Certifications & Willing To Do

CPR First Aid

Errands House Sitting Light Cleaning Organizing Pet Sitting Tutoring